NFL IS BACK! Week 1, 2014 Predictions

4 Sep

nfl_week1_d1_576

 

NFL Predictions 2014-2015

 

It’s the first week of the 2014-15 NFL season already?! That’s crazy. I don’t know if it’s just because I’m tired of being a dejected Washington Sports Team fan, but I haven’t paid attention to much of anything at all this off season.

Week One

September 4th – Thursday Night Game (8:30 PM ET)

Green Bay Packers at Seattle Seahawks

Andrew – Seattle. Tough game to start out with, but I think the Seahawks continue their streak of dominating at home.

Greg – Seattle. This should be an interesting game to watch and see how both teams come out this year. Last time they played, we had the insane ending with the replacement referees screwing everything up. This time I expect a defensive battle with some sloppy offensive play to start out, but the Seahawks ultimately winning by a touchdown.

Genesis – Seattle. Defending Super Bowl Champs. 12th man. Loud noises. Pete Carroll swag walk.

 

More picks!

September 7th

Sunday Early Afternoon Games (1:00 PM ET)

New Orleans Saints at Atlanta Falcons

Andrew – New Orleans. Interesting year for both teams last year, but I have more faith in New Orleans than I will ever have in the Falcons.

Greg – Atlanta. I really don’t know what to think of the NFC South every year, this year is no different! Who will be good?! Who will be bad?! More than likely, they’ll all be mediocre. That said, I’ll go biased here with the Falcons since they were on Hard Knocks.

Genesis – Saints. I didn’t see Hard Knocks this year, so I have no idea what’s happening with the Falcons. So, I’m going with the team I know more about – Saints go marching in.

Cincinnati Bengals at Baltimore Ravens

Andrew – Baltimore Ravens.

Greg – Baltimore. I mean, they should win this game right? This is a game that is meaningless to me. So early in the season like this, I doubt we’ll be able to tell much from these two teams.

Genesis – Ravens. Who’s on the Bengals again?

Buffalo Bills at Chicago Bears

Andrew – Chicago.

Greg – Chicago. The Bills continue their hot streak of never having a good quarterback, that holds true with Orton now. Even though against his former team, I expect the Bears to handle this pretty easily.

Genesis – Bills. In the wild, a buffalo would fall prey to a bear. But in this case, that buffalo is named Sammy Watkins – and he’s pretty fast.

Washington [Expletive Deleted] at Houston Texans

Andrew – Washington.

Greg – Houston. I have little faith in both of these teams, but I see more playmakers on the Texans than I do on Washington, so I’ll go with the Texans in a sloppy one. Be safe RG3.

Genesis – Breadsticks. I mean…Jadeveon Clowney isn’t going to absolutely break RG3 in the first game, right? RIGHT???!!!

Tennessee Titans at Kansas City Chiefs

Andrew – Kansas City.

Greg – Kansas City. With Alex Smith locked into a nice contract, maybe he’ll settle down and be able to pick apart this Titans defense.

Genesis – Chiefs. The Chiefs were a monster team last year. I don’t think that’s going to change.

New England Patriots at Miami Dolphins

Andrew – New England.

Greg – New England. This is a potential trap game. Travelling down into the Miami heat and with rumors of a new offensive system, we could see some trick plays with Miami that could challenge the Patriots. That said, I’ll still pick the Pats to pull it out in a close game.

Genesis – Pats. Why does this game even exist?

Oakland Raiders at New York Jets.

Andrew – New York Jets. Geez, this sweet nugget of a game already? I imagine both teams will yuck it up, so the tie breaker goes to the home team.

Greg – New York Jets. Wow this will be fun right? I’ll take the home east coast team, I guess.

Genesis – Jets. I mean, I guess

Jacksonville Jaguars at Philadelphia Eagles

Andrew – Philadelphia. I’m not really sure what the Jaguars did to make themselves better this offseason. Bortles could be the next best thing, but if Chad Henne gets the nod, it might be too late to save this game.

Greg – Philadelphia. The Jags have some good players that are up and coming, but I still cannot pick them to win basically any game yet, maybe later in the season. Eagles should be able to win this game pretty easily.

Genesis – Eagles. It’ll be interesting to see if Chip’s up-tempo offense continues to work this year – especially after every team has had a full year’s worth of film on it now. God, they were so fast….so so fast…

Cleveland Browns at Pittsburgh Steelers

Andrew – Pittsburgh. Do you think Manziel will come in to lead the Browns over that Steelers defense? I didn’t think so either.

Greg – Cleveland. I’m going to go on an upset pick here just based on the summer that Cleveland (the city) had. Maybe things are going their way? Go Manziel (he won’t play).

Genesis – Browns. In Hoyer and Shanahan we trust. lol

Minnesota Vikings at St. Louis Rams

Andrew – Minnesota. It’s always a toss up when neither team has a proven QB, but at least Matt Cassel can hand the ball to AP.

Greg – Minnesota. With no Sam Bradford and a lackluster offense in St Louis, I can’t pick them. That said, their defense will be able to control Minnesota and keep them in the game — to lose by a field goal.

Genesis – Vikings. Sam Bradford has a boo boo on his knee and the Rams put themselves in a position where they literally have nobody else to help out. It’s going to be a rough season. 0 – 16, I’m calling it.

Sunday Late Afternoon Games (4:25 PM ET)

San Francisco 49ers at Dallas Cowboys

Andrew – San Francisco. The Cowboys’ defense was so bad last year that no matter what they’ve done (and moving Monte Kiffin to assistant head coach isn’t what I had in mind) I will continue to bet against them until they prove me wrong. Unfortunately for them, this is a difficult test to start out with.

Greg – Dallas. I suppose this is technically an upset pick right? Maybe? Anyways, the Cowboys have a pretty good offense and a defense that will be able to force some turnovers. Close game, Dallas squeaks it out.

Genesis – 49ers. I don’t know. The NFC East is always weird. Teams are never consistent. The only thing they’re consistent in doing is being inconsistent. I can’t see the Cowboys defense stopping Kaepernick.

Carolina Panthers at Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Andrew – Tampa Bay. A bit of a gamble… I think Tampa Bay actually had a lot of talent last year, they just couldn’t close out any wins. Lovie Smith will change that.

Greg – Carolina. I know that a lot of people are jumping onto the Tampa band-boat-wagon, but I’m not one of them, they’re still the Bucs. YOU HEAR ME?! Do your thing Cam.

Genesis – Panthers. SPAM NEWTON, HERE WE GOOOO

Sunday Night Game (8:30 PM ET)

Indianapolis Colts at Denver Broncos

Andrew – Denver. Both teams have high expectations this year, so this should be a good game as well as a good test for both. We all know the Colts won last year in Indianapolis, so I imagine Peyton had all

Greg – Indianapolis. I really do think having no Wes Welker in the lineup really hurts Peyton and the Broncos offense. Yes, they have a lot of options, but I don’t think they’ll be able to win it this time. People are high on Denver again this year, but I don’t think they will be what we saw last year.

Genesis – Broncos. I mean – Denver is missing Wes (for smoking heavy doobies), but they also have Peyton who can make even a scrub substitute, a scrubstitute, look good.

September 8th

Monday Night Games

New York Giants at Detroit Lions — 7:10 p.m.

Andrew – Detroit. Not sure if New York just stumbled a bit last year and will bounce back, or if that organization is going through some real shit. Both of these teams don’t drive a lot of confidence, but I have to think the Lions will be able to handle their business at home against an inconsistent New York team.

Greg – Detroit. If Eli Manning continues his struggles, I wonder how long he can continue to be the starting quarterback — he is really bad. That said, he’s still Eli and he’ll be able to move the ball, I just think Detroit will be able to get some big plays that will overcome anything the Giants do.

Genesis – Lions. Suh’s gonna stomp on Eli’s face. Eli’s dumb, mouth breathing face.

San Diego Chargers at Arizona Cardinals — 10:20 p.m.

Andrew – Arizona. I don’t know why, but I’m super high on the Cardinals. Don’t let me look like a fool!

Greg – San Diego. Yay for West Coast football? I’ll check out the first half, then sleepytime. Big game for both teams to show what they have to offer this year though.

Genesis – Cards. I don’t know. Larry Fitzgerald or something.

 

Leave a Reply

