Week 1 NFL 2013 Predictions!

6 Sep

Philadelphia-Eagles

Yaaaay football is back! And yeah, we didn’t post this last night, but I mean, who could’ve predicted Peyton throwing 7 TDs anyways?!

September 5th – Thursday Night Game (8:30 PM ET)

Baltimore Ravens at Denver Broncos

Andrew – Denver Broncos. This is a super tough game for the Ravens to open with on the road, plus it’s definitely a revenge game for that loss in the playoffs last year. I know that the Broncos lost Dumerville and are without Von Miller for 6 games, AND Champ Bailey isn’t going to be there… oh wait… uh so why aren’t the Ravens going to win? I’ll tell you why, because Peyton Manning is going to do what he does best, and that’s dissect defenses. The Broncos should be able to easily put up 30+ on the Ravens, and I just don’t see Ravens being able to match that kind of offensive firepower.

Greg – Denver Broncos. The Ravens come into this season a shell of what they were last year. So many people have left. That said, they will still be a decent team, but keep in mind before their Super Bowl run, Baltimore was debating firing coaches and questioning Flacco. I think the Broncos will win this one by at least 10. Hi Wes!

September 8th – Early Sunday Games (1:00 PM ET)

New England Patriots at Buffalo Bills

Andrew – New England Patriots. I’ve been trying to think of a nice way of putting this, but I just don’t see a situation where New England loses this game. EJ Manuel and CJ Spiller will definitely cause some headaches for the Patriots defense, no doubt, but one or two mistakes (aka if the Patriots get too far ahead and force EJ Manuel to air it out a lot) and this game will be over.

Greg – New England Patriots. It seems the Bills and Pats always square off early in the season — and every year it’s Brady v some other quarterback. This time it’s an undrafted rookie. I expect the Patriots defense to be pretty strong this year, so hopefully this goes that way. Pats roll.

niners_151671935_620x350

Cincinnati Bengals at Chicago Bears

Andrew – Cincinnati Bengals. A bit of a toss up for me. I don’t want to count out the Bears, especially at home, but they seem to have recurring issues that haven’t gotten better with time – turnovers, offensive line woes (every damn year), running back stability (Forte is a beast, but getting older and banged up), and the retirement of Brian Urlacher (aka heart of the defense). For me, it comes down to if Jay Cutler can get enough time to be effective, and I’m placing my bet on Mike Zimmerman and that Bengals defense.

Greg – Cincinnati Bengals. Yeah I think this is just the Hard Knocks bias setting in here, but the Bengals should have a decent team this year again. I think the Bears will have success on offense on big plays, but a costly turnover late will end up sealing the victory for the Bengals.

Miami Dolphins at Cleveland Browns

Andrew – Cleveland Browns. I’m pretty sure last year I was high on the Browns and it wasn’t until sometime after week 12 they started to really improve. Well, let this be a lesson for you, I don’t learn lessons, and I’m back to being high on the Browns. They should be able to manage the game and stick to their game plan, defensively they should be able to handle whatever gets thrown at them, so the rest will be up to Trent Richardson.

Greg – Miami Dolphins. This is essentially a must win for the Browns, or they could be starting the season 0-4. I thought about how the Browns could win this game, and I really have no idea. I could care less about this game, besides the fact I’m curious to see if the Dolphins have improved at all under 2nd year coach Philbin.

Atlanta Falcons at New Orleans Saints

Andrew – Atlanta Falcons. Greg says this is an upset, but I don’t really see it that way. Have the Saints fixed their defensive issues? I’ll believe it when I see it. Otherwise, they’re going continue to have a tough time dealing with both Roddy White and Julio Jones.

Greg – Atlanta Falcons. Yeah I’m going for an upset here. I’m not sure why, but I sense a changing of the tide with the Saints/Falcons — and what better way for the Falcons to make that statement than winning on the road in the opener?

Tampa Bay Buccaneers at New York Jets

Andrew – Tampa Bay. Do you think if the Jets paid the NCAA Johnny Manziel could come out and QB for the Jets for a couple important games? I don’t doubt that Geno Smith is an improvement over Sanchez, but that’s not saying that much either. If Josh Freeman continues to play like he played at the end of last year, this should be a good win on the road.

Greg – Tampa Bay. The Jets have been a joke all off season. While Sanchez is out injured, it might just be a good thing for them — I think Geno Smith will play decent, but not great. Doesn’t help that the Bucs defense sees a similar quarterback every day in practice in Josh Freeman. Close game, Bucs win late in a sloppy one.

Tennessee Titans at Pittsburgh Steelers

Andrew – Pittsburgh. While I actually feel as though the Steelers will be on the upswing this year, I picking them to win this game solely based on their opponent. I have little faith in Chris Johnson actually returning to his full capabilities, and even less in Jake Locker. Steelers should be able to establish an early lead, force a couple turnovers, and keep this game out of the Tennessee’s reach.

Greg – Pittsburgh. While the Steelers have been on a bit of a “decline” over the past 2 years, they are still a good team. I expect them to come out and handle business. Look for a good game (And year) from Chris Johnson though.

Minnesota Vikings at Detroit Lions

Andrew – Detroit Lions. Going with the home team here, on the off chance that they

Greg – Detroit Lions. I am very interested in seeing both of these teams play. Will one of them finally be good? I think the Lions have the better chance in that category. If Stafford plays well and doesn’t throw picks, this could be an easy win for Detroit.

Oakland Raiders at Indianapolis Colts

Andrew – Indainapolis Colts. This is my lock of the week. The Colts were almost perfect at home last year, and should only be better this year. Meanwhile the Raiders continue to lead the charge against continuity. Keep fighting the good fight, Raiders nation.

Greg – Indianapolis Colts. Hey Andrew Luck is back! Seems like he has been under the radar this offseason with all the RG3 specials (maybe it’s just DC blocking him out). Either way, he should have another good year and lead the Colts to an easy win over da Raaaaiiiiders.

Seattle Seahawks at Carolina Panthers

Andrew – Seattle. Cam Newton is just too hit or miss for me to be able to rely on him to win going up against such a strong Seattle defense, even when they’re traveling cross country for an early game. I keep going through different scenarios in my head, and barring anything major, I don’t see the Panthers overcoming the Seahawks defense.

Greg – Seattle. I thought about this game for a while. I think this will be a tight game and the Panthers will play them well, but ultimately, Seattle is the better team and their defense will be able to squeeze Cam into making a turnover. I do think Cam will be looking to make a statement in this game though.

Kansas City Chiefs at Jacksonville Jaguars

Andrew – Kansas City. Like all of last year, whomever is playing the Jaguars only needs to stop the run, and let Blaine Gabbert (not) do the rest. Not that I really think Kansas City is going to be *that* much better than they were last year, Alex Smith, in combination with Andy Reid, does improve their chances.

Greg – Kansas City. Oh man.. this is an opening week game? That’s too bad. Well I’m just going with Andy Reid having a full year to reboot this team. I really have no idea what to expect here and really don’t care. There, I said it. Also — has anyone ever met at Chief or Jags fan? I sure haven’t.

September 8th – Sunday Afternoon Games (4:25 PM ET)

Arizona Cardinals at St. Louis Rams

Andrew – St. Louis. The Rams know they have to be at the top of their game all year in order to stay competitive in the NFC West (how weird is that to say?), and the best way to start that is a win at home against a division rival. With a weak pass rush against him, Sam Bradford should have the time he needs to be better than normal… but a mistake will keep this game close.

Greg – St Louis. So there are a lot of games I don’t care about in the NFL huh? Let’s go with the home team here, plus the Cardinals had a horrid passing defense last year.

Green Bay Packers at San Francisco 49ers

Andrew – San Francisco. Green Bay could not get their shit together defensively, the last time they played the Kaepernick led 49ers, and I imagine they’ll struggle with some of the same issues (speed being one of them). I imagine this will start slow as each defense trying to impose their will, but when things eventually break down, I imagine it breaking in favor of San Francisco.

Greg – San Francisco. Hey an interesting game! This actually should be really fun to watch. I’m very interested to see how defenses have learned to defend against Kaepernick. I’m GUESSING this could turn into a shootout (fingers crossed), with the 49ers eventually prevailing with the better defense.

September 8th – Sunday Night Game (8:30 PM ET)

New York Giants at Dallas Cowboys

Andrew – New York. I’m split on this one. Both teams are impossible to pick. Pretty sure the Cowboys have been picked to win the Superbowl for the past decade, despite only making the playoffs once (? give or take. Either way, it’s been a while). That being said, Tom Coughlin is constantly on track to lose his job, until the Giants get it together and win a Superbowl. Very confusing. I think both teams will be able to handle the running backs well enough, which means which QB and receiving corps do I trust the most, and in this case, I’m going with the Giants.

Greg – Dallas. Once again, everyone is saying the Cowboys could have a big year — and if everyone on their team actually knew how to stay healthy, they could! I’m banking on the Giants never playing too well at the beginning of the season. Romo should have a good game too.

September 9th – Monday Night Games

Philadelphia Eagles at Washington Redskins (6:55 PM ET)

Andrew – Washington. Yes, I’m a little nervous about the uptempo pace that Chip will run, but that won’t help them defensively (in fact if they are too successful, it could put their defense back out on the field faster than anticipated — but I admit that is less of an issue than I’d like to make it out to be). The two biggest factors for me are – can Vick be as accurate as he needs to be (in addition to not having turnovers, this is a huge factor in how quickly the Eagles are able to actually run the offense) and how improved is the defense? Unfortunately, I don’t believe either of these issues have been solved from last year, so despite what may be an exciting game, I don’t see the Eagles pulling out this road win.

Greg – Washington. I’m a bit torn here, because I really don’t know if I can trust RG3 yet. I know he had a great year last year when healthy, but defenses learn very quickly how to break people down. That being said, I think there are more questions on the Eagles side coming into this year. Look for some trickery coming from Chip and Vick though! Should be a fun game.

Houston Texans at San Diego Chargers (10:15 PM ET)

Andrew – Houston. I’m interested to see how San Diego bounces back from last year, but I think the days of them being able to compete against most well rounded NFL teams are long gone.

Greg – Houston. At least this is the late game so I can go to sleep early! Houston should roll in this game pretty easily.

Leave a Reply

