Week 14 NFL Predictions!

6 Dec

week-13-cowboys-4_3_rx512_c680x510

 

Thursday, December 6th

Denver Broncos at Oakland Raiders 8:20 PM

Andrew – Denver. I wonder if the Raiders will rally and play inspired football for their head coach, whose father recently passed away. We saw the Chiefs do it, albeit after a much more traumatic incident. The other side to that coin is just a complete crumble (like Andy Reid with the Eagles). Man, this is a depressing start to this week’s post.

Greg – Denver. How long can these Thursday night games last? I don’t think the Raiders will be much of a challenge (maybe early, but that’s about it). The Broncos roll through Oakland.

Sunday, December 9th

St. Louis Rams at Buffalo Bills 1:00 PM

Andrew – Buffalo. Coin toss on this one. Both of these teams are too inconsistent for me to really have a feel for them. I’ll take the home team, but know this could go either way.

Greg – Buffalo. Yeah I’m taking the home team where a rain/snow mix will hit Buffalo this weekend. The dome team from St Louis should struggle through that and the Bills pull out a win.

Dallas Cowboys at Cincinnati Bengals 1:00 PM

Andrew – Cincinnati. I expect Dallas to play hard in the second half, I’m just hoping that the Bengals can put enough space between them in the first to seal the win.

Greg – Cincinnati. The Bengals have been playing really well the last few weeks — particularly their defense. This is another must win for both teams to stay in the playoff hunt, but I don’t see the Cowboys winning this game. I think it will be extremely close though, Romo will have to have his best game this season to win.

Kansas City Chiefs at Cleveland Browns 1:00 PM

Andrew – Cleveland. I don’t really expect the Chiefs to have the same kind of success that they had last week on the road, against a generally stout Browns defense. The being said, I don’t know what success I really expect the Browns to have either. Low scoring affair for everyone!

Greg – Cleveland. So the Chiefs have to go on the road and are still recovering from the horrible events from last week. While it will be good for them to get away for a bit, I don’t see them going in and winning against the Browns. As I’ve said in previous weeks, the Browns have been competitive in almost all their game this season. They get the win Sunday.

ALL DEM PICKS AFTER THE JUMP!


Philadelphia Eagles at Tampa Bay Buccaneers 1:00 PM

Andrew – Tampa Bay. Per usual, the Eagles *could* win this game, especially with the way Nick Foles played against Dallas… but I can only assume their slide into complete self destructions continues on the road.

Greg – Tampa Bay. There really isn’t a reason to play if you’re on the Eagles right now.  You know your team is going to go into self destruction mode after this season and blow the whole thing up. Just play for some money and a contract next year. With that attitude, I expect the Bucs to win at home and continue their playoff push.

Baltimore Ravens at Washington Redskins 1:00 PM

Andrew – Washington. I consider this to be a monumental game for the Redskins. They’re 0-2 in non-division games, and they need a win to keep pace with the NFC wild card spot, let alone catch up to the Giants. I’m nervous the Redskins will come out with similar plays they’ve run in the past (especially that playaction, quick pass over the middle for 10 yards) and Ed Reed will just be there waiting for the ball. If Redskins can get past the Ravens, then we’ll know they’ve really turned a corner.

Greg – Washington. This team is playing out of IT’S MIND! What is happening in DC?! RG3 has single handedly turned this franchise around, it’s actually pretty incredible to watch. The Redskins will win this game, feeding off an electric crowd. For once in my life, I will go out of my way to watch a Redskins game. Don’t look now though, here come the bandwagoners..

Atlanta Falcons at Carolina Panthers 1:00 PM

Andrew – Atlanta. Carolina, I’m disappointed in you… although it was nice of you to let the Chiefs win last week. Unfortunately, that also makes me nervous for how you’ll play against the Falcons as well. I mean… Brady Quinn?

Greg – Atlanta. I thought this would be the breakout year for the Panthers and they’d finish with a 10 win season. Boy was I wrong. Their defense has let them down all year, and going against the high powered Falcons shouldn’t be any different.

New York Jets at Jacksonville Jaguars 1:00 PM

Andrew – Jacksonville. Bit of a gamble, considering the Jaguars are arguably the worst team in the league. I do expect Mark Sanchez to have a better game… but I don’t know if he even has the pieces around him to really succeed. I’m pretty sure Rex Ryan’s fate was sealed long ago, but if they lose this game, I could potentially see a change come Monday to rejuvenate the team for the rest of their soft schedule.

Greg – New York Jets. This is a defining moment for not only Sanchez, but Rex Ryan. I wonder how much control he actually has in this and how much of his career with the Jets is riding on this game. The old Jets would bounce back and win this game in impressive fashion. This game to me will signify what kind of team the Jets are and if Rex still has any future with the team.

Tennessee Titans at Indianapolis Colts 1:00 PM

Andrew – Indianapolis. Colts at home are a solid bet, and they have to be feeling just *@$&* awesome after that win in Detroit.

Greg – Indianapolis. Can you believe we could have 3 rookie QBs in the playoffs this year?? This is getting out of control. Aren’t these kids supposed to be awful?! Well anyways, the Colts are at home and are playing a Titans offense who hasn’t scored more than 20 points in the past 6 weeks. That isn’t good kids.

Chicago Bears at Minnesota Vikings 1:00 PM

Andrew – Chicago. Last year, Chicago’s downfall was blamed on injuries (Jay Cutty with no back up qb, and Matt Forte, with meh offensive line for his backup) but now… I’m not too sure. Does this team just get tired at the end of the year? The injuries seem to be on the other side this time, but still… losing to the Seahawks at home is awful (although that pass to Brandon Marshall to force OT was exciting). Either way, I think Chicago has to win this game to pretend to be a playoff competitor, otherwise, I’m writing them off.

Greg – Minnesota. Basically I am picking the Vikings this week because they are forced in a must-win situation. AP has put this team on his back and has had an incredible year rushing. While I picked the Seahawks to win last week against the Bears, I was still surprised that Chicago lost. This week I think the Vikings do some things and without Urlacher in the middle of the Bears defense, are able to score a few touchdowns. I’m banking on Cutler having one of those turnover happy games again.

San Diego Chargers at Pittsburgh Steelers 1:00 PM

Andrew – Pittsburgh. I don’t care who is playing for the Steelers at QB, I have no faith in the Chargers.

Greg – Pittsburgh. Yeah I don’t think I can pick the Chargers the rest of the year. Fire sale at the end of this year!

Miami Dolphins at San Francisco 49ers 4:05 PM

Andrew – San Francisco. I’m going 49ers here, mainly because the Dolphins have to make the trip across the country, however…. I still think there is a chance that San Francisco could lose, and then the  49ers will have a bit of a mess on their hands for prematurely pulling out on Alex Smith.

Greg – San Francisco. Trap game for the 49ers here. Looking ahead to the Pats? Well probably not. I think Kaepernick has a better week and they are able to actually put points on the board. 49ers win easily.

Arizona Cardinals at Seattle Seahawks 4:25 PM

Andrew – Seattle. Always pick the Seahawks at home, always. This game could get brutal.

Greg – Seattle. Who is the starting quarterback in Arizona? Mr. Samir Naga… Naga… Naga… Not gonna work here anymore, anyway.

New Orleans Saints at New York Giants 4:25 PM

Andrew – New York. Torn on this one, mainly because the way the Saints can put up points, and they’re coming off a long(er) week of rest, vs the short one for the Giants. Still… I have to go Giants at home with their NFC East division title being threatened by Dallas/Washington.

Greg – New York Football Giants. Late in the year, you go with the Giants. Normally at this time, the Saints would be making their playoff push also, but man, what a year they’ve had. Both teams are coming off tough losses to division opponents, but I still see more upside with the Giants here. I think the Saints are just mentally exhausted from this year.

Detroit Lions at Green Bay Packers 8:20 PM

Andrew – Green Bay. Neither team has been all that impressive as of late, and you just know Aaron Rodgers is going to get hit late a few extra times, however, unlike years past where the Lions seemed to find ways to win, they seem to find the hardest way to lose. I imagine a close game and all that, but the Packers take this one in the end.

Greg – Green Bay. Every year the Lions are supposed to be good. Now they are at the bottom of their division at 4-8. Another losing season is on tap here with a loss to the Pack. I think this game will be a lot of fun though, sort of looking forward to it — but not as much as this next game.

Monday, December 10th

Houston Texans at New England Patriots 8:30 PM

Andrew – Houston. Odds and history are totally against me, however… I honestly think that Houston is the better team all around (not as high scoring, but at least has a secondary). Pats lead early through the third, where the defense starts to fall apart (per usual) with Matt Schaub coming in to win it late in the 4th.

Greg – New England. If this game were in Houston, it’d be a different story. However, the forecast is calling for snow all weekend in Foxboro. The high on Monday is 13 degrees. That is all. I am super excited/nervous for this game. Have had this game circled on my calendar all year. If you remember at the beginning of the year, my SuperBowl pick from the AFC was either Houston or New England. LET’S ALL ENJOY THIS GAME!!

5 Responses to “Week 14 NFL Predictions!”

  1. bk1984 December 6, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Pick against the spread bitches

    • Grego December 6, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      Yeah we prob will next year. Does it make you that angry?

      • bk1984 December 6, 2012 at 11:27 am #

        Yeah, I went and punched a bunch of holes in my neighbors garage, but I’m over it now.

  2. buckleback December 6, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Reblogged this on Wannamakeabet.

  3. ian sbalcio | photo (@isbalcio) December 6, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    haha prematurely pulling out on alex smith…

Leave a Reply

