Week 2 NFL Predictions!

13 Sep

Week 2

Thursday, September 13th

Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers 8:20 PM

Andrew – Green Bay. I’m pretty torn on this game – I feel like the Bears are going to be legit this year… but I still obviously have faith in the Packers despite their loss against the 49ers. If the Bears struggle in the beginning like they did against the Colts, the Packers won’t hesitate to close the door on this game. I’m going with the home team here, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the Bears pulled it out. Either way, I’m hoping for a close one.

Greg’s Pick: Green Bay. huge rivalry here, and while I agree Bears will be better this year, Packers win this round.

Sunday, September 16th

Kansas City Chiefs at Buffalo Bills 1:00 PM

Andrew – Buffalo Bills. Ok, sooo clearly the Bills didn’t live up to the hype that I had in my head, but they should be able to beat the Chiefs. If not… then damn… I really don’t know what to make of this team.

Greg’s Pick: Buffalo Bills. The Bills maybe need a game there to figure things out, I really don’t know the Chiefs, I think they’ll be better this year? but at home, Bills win.

Cleveland Browns at Cincinnati Bengals 1:00 PM

Andrew – Cincinnati Bengals. Ok, I clearly gambled on the Bengals beating the Ravens on the road… I should have known better. The Browns at home though should be a good game for the Bengals to bounce back.

Greg’s Pick: Bengals. Yeah, the Browns almost beat the Eagles…because Vick threw 4 interceptions. I don’t see Dalton doing that this week as the Bengals win easily.

REST OF THE PICKS AFTER THE JUMP!

Minnesota Vikings at Indianapolis Colts 1:00 PM

Andrew – Indianapolis Colts. Even though the Vikings should be happy about Adrian Peterson, they can’t be at all happy about that lackluster win over the Jaguars. Both of these teams are a gamble, I don’t think the Colts have the defense to slow down the Vikings, but if it comes down to a shootout, Luck is the better QB for the job.

Greg’s Pick: Minnesota Vikings. I think both of these teams will get better with each week, but I think right now, Vikings are better.

New Orleans Saints at Carolina Panthers 1:00 PM

Andrew – New Orleans Saints. The discussion surrounding the New Orleans week one loss can be lumped into two categories – are the Saints the same team without the suspended members (coaches and players that aren’t 100%), or are the Redskins legit and the Saints just got beat by a better team. I’m guessing the answer is more so the former – it’s a new defense, with a new defensive coordinate and since the suspended players were on defense, then naturally the Saints are a little weak on defense. In general, the Saints defense struggled with how to defend against a running QB, which could be an issue in this game too, but I’m willing to gamble that the Panthers continue with their struggles on offense, and Carolina won’t be able to catch up.

Greg’s Pick: New Orleans. The Saints offense took a bit of time to get in gear last week, and the defense is still learning the extremely complicated schemes. I think it will be close, but Saints squeak this one out on the road.

Houston Texans at Jacksonville Jaguars 1:00 PM

Andrew – Houston Texans. Another lock for the Texans, I don’t see their high powered offense getting stymied in Jacksonville.

Greg’s Pick: Houston Texans. oh man Jacksonville again..

Oakland Raiders at Miami Dolphins 1:00 PM

Andrew – Oakland Raiders. Ah, a trip across the country is always pretty difficult, but I don’t know if the Dolphins are the type of team to stand up for themselves….yet. A lot of people have faith in Ryan Tannehill, but the Dolphins have a lot of other issues to work out besides that. This will be a tough game for Miami to get all aspects clicking. 

Greg’s Pick: Miami Dolphins. Going out on a limb here simply because it is a cross country trip for a 1 o clock game.

Arizona Carindals at New England Patriots 1:00 PM

Andrew – New England Patriots. If the Cardinals win this game, I quit sports.

Greg’s Pick: New England. What Andrew said.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers at New York Giants 1:00 PM

Andrew – New York Giants. I didn’t realize that the Giants were so thin on defense when they played the Cowboys – that was disappointing. With some extra down time between week one and two, hopefully some players return to the lineup, but either way I don’t think the Giants will have any problem with the Bucs.

Greg’s Pick: New York Giants. Coughlin gets and extra few days to prepare for a mediocre Bucs team.

Baltimore Ravens at Philadelphia Eagles 1:00 PM

Andrew – Baltimore Ravens. The Eagles certainly don’t lack for talent and at any given time could explode on offense for a mass amount of points, but for some reason they can’t get there shit in order. The Eagles were lucky in week one that Weeden went pick for pick with Michael Vick, because they certainly won’t be so lucky this time around. I under estimated the Ravens in week one, but they looked revamped on offense and the same (elite) on defense.
 
Greg’s Pick: Philadelphia. Remember last year how the Ravens could not string wins together? Well I’m banking on that and Andy Reid’s game plan ability.

Washington Redskins at St. Louis Rams 4:05 PM

Andrew – Washington Redskins. I’m super nervous about this pick. It’s the “hot” pick of this week, but I don’t think RGIII will be able to repeat the success he has in New Orleans. The Saints were really thin on defense and struggling to adapt to a new scheme, that’s not the case in St. Louis. The Rams have a good secondary, and overall the defense gave Matthew Stafford and the Lions a lot of trouble for 3/4th of that last game. If the Redskins do win, I think it’ll be just barely.

Greg’s Pick: St Louis. For all the reasons Andrew just said. The NFL learns quick.

Dallas Cowboys at Seattle Seahawks 4:05 PM

Andrew – Dallas Cowboys. The Cowboys made a loooooottt of mistakes in that first game, but were still able to bounce back and beat the Giants, something they’ve struggled with in years past. Dallas’s defense should be top notch; their starting corners looked like the best two in the league, not to mention DeMarcus Ware and the rest of the defensive line. I imagine that the Seahawks offense will almost be completely shut down.  If the Cowboys clean up their mistakes this could be another solid road win for the book.

Greg’s Pick: Dallas Cowboys. I just can’t get myself to pick Seattle, but this would be the perfect let down game Cowboys fans have come to expect.

New York Jets at Pittsburgh Steelers 4:25 PM

Andrew – Pittsburgh Steelers. The Jets definitely looked good week one, easily out performing the Bills in all phases of the game. The Steelers struggled with Denver, and the missing pieces on their defense certainly didn’t help. My gut is that the Steelers will bounce back at home and the Jets will fall on their face on the road, but if not, it might just be time for me to rethink the Jets.

Greg’s Pick: Pittsburgh. I think this will be a pretty weak year for the Steelers, but there is nooooo way the Jets maintain that offense. no. nope. no. I expect to see Tebow used less or just differently as a running back maybe? Because last week was just not working. Steelers pull off a close game

Tennessee Titans at San Diego
Chargers 4:25 PM

Andrew – San Diego Chargers. The Chargers were lucky to win that game against the Raiders. Three blocked punts? However, San Diego should feel enough confidence playing at home against the floundering Titans that the Chargers don’t totally implode.

Greg’s Pick: San Diego. Jake Locker is out, but Hasselbeck is a pretty good backup. just not enough against the Chargers though.

Detroit Lions at San Francisco 49ers

Andrew – San Francisco 49ers. Whelp, they certainly made me look stupid for picking against them in Green Bay. I can only imagine they’ll have same the success shutting down another explosive offense, while having their way on offense. I am seriously impressed with the 49ers (it’s also my secret crush team from back in the ‘90s).

Greg’s Pick: San Francisco. Five years ago, I couldn’t imagine getting excited for these two teams playing. now, this should be extremely interesting to see how they match up. 49ers defense will shut down the Lions.

Monday, September 17th

Denver Broncos at Atlanta Falcons 8:30 PM

Andrew – Atlanta Falcons. I keep wanting to pick against the Broncos because recent memory says “it’s the Broncos!” but, neigh-neigh memory – Peyton Manning obviously proved it’s not just the Broncos of recent memory, but a team helmed by a future hall of famer who is still playing at an elite level. I know, I just said all that and picked against them. I do think that their defense will struggle covering both Julio Jones and Roddy White… I mean something has to break.

Greg’s Pick: Denver Broncos. Yeah I’m not really sure, going with Peyton out on a mission to prove he can still play.

Leave a comment