Monday Music Madness: “International Love” – Pitbull & “E.T.” – Katy Perry

21 Feb

 

International Love (feat. Chris Brown) – Pitbull

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!! Pitbull switches it up here is back with another dance track. Here he talks about flying all around the world and spreading love and dance, much like a Latino Santa. Latino Santa is joined on the track by Chris Brown. Now, I appreciate that he’s trying to make a comeback. With Yeah x3 and being featured on other songs, he’s on his way to making that possible. But, will he ever be as big as he was before that fateful night? No – and I’m ok with that. So check out “International Love”:

Like this song? Check out El Santa’s new album Planet Pit, dropping in March 2011.

Keep reading for more songs!

E.T. (feat. Kanye West) – Katy Perry

I’m not sure what to make of this song. One one hand, I like it. But on the other hand, I kinda wish it was Kanye West featuring Katy Perry, not the other way around. The beat goes hard, which is why I was so quick to think that this was a Kanye song. It’s very different than the happy go lucky songs Mrs. Perry-Brand has released so far. Club song? Surprisngly, no. Radio song? Yeah – most likely. So check out “E.T.” and phone home:

Like this song? Be sure to get Katy Perry’s album, Teenage Dream, out now.

Bonus:

Fool For You (feat. Melanie Fiona) – Cee-Lo Green

This song has literally been on repeat for a week now. I can’t get enough of this song. Despite his popularity and success, Cee-Lo Green deserved a Grammy for his album The Lady Killer. It’s such a breathe of fresh air from the rest of the cookie-cutter artists and albums out there. It’s quite a shame it hasn’t been given the recognition it deserves. Anyway, the original version of “Fool for You” only featured Philip Bailey, from Earth, Wind & Fire. His falsetto voice can still be heard in this “updated” track, but both him and Cee-Lo are overpowered by the very talented Melanie Fiona.  Her new verse and voice just adds another layer of awesome this already awesome-filled track. If only I had written this post on Valentine’s Day. I could’ve been really cryptic and been like “This is for you.” So check out “Fool for You” below. This is for you:

Like this song? Be sure to get Cee-Lo’s album, The Lady Killer, out now.

The Spins – Mac Miller

I had a song I wanted to post a while back by Mac Miller when he sampled the song “Firefiles” by Owl City. It just never made it on Music Monday. But now, I was tipped off to this new song/album. Here he samples “Half Mast” by Empire of the Sun (whom I still think would make great Halloween costumes) and I just couldn’t let this one pass by. Mac Miller’s foul mouthed rhymes go surprisingly well with Empire’s happy beat. I guess it only shows that opposites work? I don’t think that’s a real expression. Anyway, check out “The Spins” below:

Like this song? Download Mac Miller’s mixtape, K.I.D.S., fo free!

My Last (feat. Chris Brown) – Big Sean

When I first heard this rapper’s name, I giggled. Big Sean just seemed like such a ridiculous name. But then I heard this song and it wasn’t half bad. Then I found out he was Kanye West‘s protege, so I gave him a chance. Although the song is still about girls, booze, and partying, it has an overall good message – live it up like it’s your last day/night. So it has good intentions but I guess it comes up short lyrically. Backed by Chris Brown (see what I mean when I said he was featured in different songs?), the piano driven beat is good to the ears. It almost makes me wish Lupe Fiasco or even Kanye himself rapped over it instead. Either way, it’s a decent song and will defintely get some radio play. Check out “My Last” and put on your Snuggie like it was your last:

Like this song? Be on the lookout for Big Sean’s debut album, Finally Famous, dropping in March 2011.

[Thanks to Jaclyn Y. for the tip!]

One Response to “Monday Music Madness: “International Love” – Pitbull & “E.T.” – Katy Perry”

  1. kathy March 3, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    yeah nice

Leave a Reply

