Monday Music Madness: “Hit the Lights” – Jay Sean & “He Won’t Go” – Adele

7 Feb

Hit The Lights (feat. Lil Wayne) – Jay Sean

After he released “2012 (It Ain’t the End)“, I thought that Jay Sean had another hit that would be overplayed on the radio. Now, although this song made it big in the UK, it only made it to #31 on the US Billboard Charts. Looks like this ol’ broad can be wrong sometimes. Well it looks like this new song might be a little more successful. “Hit the Lights” is a new song with a very catchy beat, addicting hook , and a smooth verse laid down by Lil Wayne. Check out “Hit the Lights” below:

Like this song? Lookout for Jay Sean’s new album, Freeze Time, dropping February 22nd.

Keep reading for more songs!

 He Won’t Go – Adele

I’ve been an Adele fan for a long while. Her album, 19, is still one of my favorites. If her name sounds familiar, it’s probably because you heard her hit single Chasing Pavements at one point or another. One of the main reason why I like this artist, aside from the fact that I thoroughly enjoy blues, jazz and soul, is because of the fact that her live performances are just as good, if not better than, her recorded performances. Recently, it’s been made aware to me by another blogger, that Adele has some new songs out, along with an upcoming album. Needless to say, I felt like I had to promote this talented songstress from across the pond. So check out “He Won’t Go,” and I must warn you, it’s got a lot of soul:

[Thanks to Katie H. for the tip! And be sure to check out her own food blog, MEALticulous. It’s a definite must read]

Like this song? Be sure to get her new album, 21, available on February 22nd.

Bonus:

Moment 4 Life (feat. Drake) – Nicki Minaj

Nicki Minaj is no stranger to this blog. I still think she’s the freshet female rapper to come out in a long while. But it wasn’t until she performed “Moment 4 Life” on SNL last week that got my attention towards this song. I’ve always loved listening to hip hop songs backed by a live band. Although this isn’t a live version of the song, it’s still very good. Not only does it have a feel-good message, it also features Drake and strings. Oh man, how I love strings. So check out “Moment 4 Life” below:  

Like this song? Be sure to get Nicki Minaj’s album, Pink Friday, available now.

What The Hell – Avril Lavigne

I hate myself for thinking this song is somewhat catchy. This is reminiscent of when I heard “Party in the USA” for the first time and immediately thought, “Oh crap, I’m going to end up liking this song.” Guess what happened? I ended up loving the song. Shoot me. Now Avril Lavigne, who hasn’t done anything since “Girlfriend,” is back with a horrendously catchy song. It’s that damn “Woooaaaaaahhh” part. Sigh – so check out “What the Hell” and judge me for giving terrible songs a chance:

Like this song? Shame on you. But in order to maintain format, I should inform you that her new album, Goodbye Lullaby, will be realsed on March 8th.

2 Responses to “Monday Music Madness: “Hit the Lights” – Jay Sean & “He Won’t Go” – Adele”

  1. katie February 21, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    as if!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Music Madness: “Top of the World (feat. Dev)” – The Cataracs & “Love 2 Baby” – Christian TV « Kibitzers - April 4, 2011

    […] further, Jay Sean and Avril Lavigne (which I’m still ashamed I like this song) did it in their songs. It also reminds me of 90′s techno for some reason. I loved 90′s techno. So check out […]

Leave a Reply

