A Look Ahead to Movies in 2010

19 Feb

The year 2009 brought us some great movies (and trailers), Avatar, The Blind Side, District 9, An Education, The Hurt Locker, Inglourious Basterds, Precious, A Serious Man, Up, Up in the Air – and those are just the ones nominated by the Oscars (Harry Potter, Watchmen, Star Trek, etc). Well what can we expect from 2010? Well the Kibitzers are here to get you ready for the movie season. Now that Hollywood has dumped all their crappy movies in January and early February – we can get into movies actually worth paying for.

This list will comprise February til September. I know there are some great/anticipated movies coming out late 2010 (Harry Potter, Twilight, Arrested Development, etc) – however none of these have much info on it or more importantly, a trailer to accompany it. Thus I have decided to end in September. Once the year progresses, I’ll be sure to give you more.

With all that being said – let’s get to it! Here is a list (with trailers) of what to watch for at the movies!

Shutter Island – February 18

Martin Scorsese is back, bringing along Leonardo DiCaprio, a winning combination. This movie promises a twist ending (which I found out by mistake), and is sure to keep the audience guessing and tense. I am definitely going to see this one. It’s the only thing worth seeing that’s out right now – go check it out.

The Good Guy – February 19

This one is the classic love triangle! The “stars” of the film are Alexis Bledel and Scott Porter (aka Jason Street). Although it seems like the movie has been done before – something is intriguing to me about this. It’s opening in select theaters, so if you can – go see it and report back.

Cop Out – February 26

Why am I putting this movie? I really don’t know. For a movie that seems like a family funny flick – the red band clips make it out to be extremely vulgar (possibly funnier than the trailer?) Tracy Morgan is hilarious and the scene with Sean-William Scott looks pretty good. I wouldn’t say go see this movie in theaters, but I would say go see this on your couch…on HBO.

The Crazies – February 26

Maybe you’ve seen the teasers on tv – another zombie movie right? YAWN. But this one pulls you in. Mysterious. What is going on?! I’m pretty sure I will not be seeing this with my girlfriend. One word describes this trailer – TENSE!

Alice in Wonderland – March 5

Tim Burton and Johnny Depp in the same movie over and over again! Sorry – as you can tell, I am not excited for this one. Not one part of this trailer interests me BUT Chester the cat. The acting will be overdone and the special effects just seem out of whack. That being said – the Burton/Depp fan base will blast this one into some record – and we can expect a prequel in 2 years probably. Thanks.

Remember Me – March 12

R-PATZ!!111!! OMG! I remember seeing this trailer for the first time at Twilight – the place erupted. Pattinson actually looks like he could be pretty good in this – the dejected teen! And Claire from Lost is in it! I’m still torn on whether I’ll go see this in theaters or rent it.

Green Zone – March 12

This is literally just like the Bourne series. Did Hollywood think no one would make that connection? I wasn’t excited for the movie until I stopped thinking like that. It’s Bourne on steroids! So yes, I will be seeing this in theaters. I hate the girl in it though.

She’s Out of My League – March 12

A bunch of b-name stars in a movie that’s been done again and again. However, this movie will definitely have some chuckles. Whether it’s worth the $10 is up to you. I’d rather rent it.

Hot Tub Time Machine –  March 19

This might be the best comedy we can expect this year. For the most part it is flying under the radar and just creating some buzz. The thing I like most about it – they don’t take it seriously, at all. They know it’s ridiculous, and they mock themselves. Go see it.

The Runaways – March 19

Kristen Stewart and Dakota Fanning star in this one. You know, this movie actually might be entertaining, def worth a rent. It would be even better if I knew this question – is there any historical accuracy to this story? Maybe they’ll splice in some real bands or something.

Hubble 3D – March 19

When I saw this in IMAX 3D – I literally felt like I was in space with them. It really was that amazing. I have been saving my AMC passes to go see this in IMAX. Everyone in the audience literally gasped when they first showed them in space.

Clash of the Titans – April 2

The next big star in Hollywood strikes again – Sam Worthington. The movie is going to be pretty basic plot wise – however I still am pretty excited for this movie. Maybe it’s my ancient history courses kicking in, or just how it’s as close as a God of War movie I can get. I am skeptical that at the last second (after seeing Avatar’s success in 3D) they also made it available in 3D now. But, see it opening weekend.

Repo Men – April 2

This is actually a cool idea for a movie. I like Jude Law in this role. I hope this movie can maybe be the next Minority Report, however I think it might just be Artificial Intelligence (good but not a box office smash). I’ll eventually see this one, probably after Clash of the Titans and this next movie…

Kick-Ass – April 16

With a superhero movie coming just about every six months – it’s refreshing to see a movie like this. It’s also surrounded by tons of buzz – which is easy to see why after watching this trailer. I cannot wait for this movie. A new red-band trailer was just released here. See it opening night, midnight premiere if you can!

MacGruber – April 16

A lengthy version of the 1 minute skits on SNL, MacGruber will be an instant cult classic (is that even possible anymore?). I would put it along the lines of Team America or Wet Hot American Summer. Go see Kick-Ass first. And maybe the weekend after see this one – or when you have nothing else to do.

Machete – April 16

Well there still isn’t an official trailer out there for this one. But there is the “fake” trailer from 2007 Grindhouse. The movie should be something along these lines – just as gritty. Get excited.

Wall Street 2 – April 23

Well I never saw the original, but this trailer makes it look kind of cool. Can’t tell too much from the teaser of an actual plot, so I would say wait on this one. I doubt it will be that good – remakes like this never do to well.

Nightmare on Elm Street – April 30

That’s right. He’s back, AGAIN! Released not even close to Halloween, but that’s okay, because with an April release, October DVD will be set. This movie is actually getting some buzz, and good buzz at that! Still, ere on the side of skeptical and wait for this one in October, when it’s actually fun to be scared.

Ironman 2 – May 7

I don’t have to say much about this. Just that it will be amazing. WAR MACHINE! See it opening night.

Robin Hood – May 14

I love the story of Robin Hood, always have, always will. Then why am I timid about getting excited over this one? I’m not too sure either. Something about it doesn’t seem amazing to me. I will still see it opening weekend though, you should too.

Shrek Forever After – May 21

This one just looks too gimmicky. Way too many in your face 3D actions to appreciate it. Remember how good the first Shrek was?! Wait til this is on ABC some Sunday night. (ed note – Puss-n-Boots sliding down the pole makes me chuckle every time)

Prince of Persia – May 28

Based off of the high-selling video game, the movie get’s a great weekend to be released. I never played the game and can say that I really don’t care about this movie. I probably won’t see it. I know that I should go see it though to support video game movies in hopes of an Uncharted or God of War film in the near-future.

Sex and the City 2 – May 28

Hey – remember when this show ended and the said they would never come back for it?! Just listen to Carrie narrate the trailer. Nothing she says makes any sense. I will also take this opportunity to say that Carrie’s fashion is awful. If you are a girl reading this, never dress like her.

The A-Team – June 11

MACHINE GUNS WHILE FALLING OUT OF AIR! ENOUGH SAID!

Get Him to the Greek – June 11

Hmm. Do I laugh at their forced jokes? I see Aziz (and his DJ!) are in this film, if I am promised 10 minutes of screen time I’d see it. However this is just another script written in a day, throw in some Jonah Hill (the kids like him right?!) and you get this. I’ll see you on HBO Jonah!

Toy Story 3 – June 18

This seriously could be the highest grossing film of the year. I know I am excited for the story to be complete (hopefully). See it opening weekend and be part of the craze!

The Last Airbender – July 2

Everyone understands this is based off of a child’s anime show right? This movie is going to be very bad. It might be entertaining. One of us here at the Kibitzers (Genesis) has been going nuts for this since the teaser trailer, and will probably see it opening night. I however will advise you to rent it or watch it on ABC Family. It makes me wonder though, if it’s going to be so bad, Paramount must think it will make some money by giving it the July 4 weekend release date.

Despicable Me – July 9

Okay guys, I’ll bite! This one could be entertaining, there’s not a whole lot of info about it as of yet, so I would say wait on this one – but could be a good Sunday viewing.

Inception – July 16

This is my most anticipated movie this summer. Everything about the trailer is perfect. Maybe it will make next year’s best trailers of 2010. I cannot wait to see this! Go see it opening night. Christopher Nolan is a genius and Leonardo DiCaprio has proven to be one of the greatest actors of our generation.

Salt – July 23

High powered blockbuster action! Starring Angelina Jolie too! You know this movie actually looks entertaining. I think I will see The Expendables before this, but I might check it out.

The Expendables – August 13

This movie keeps getting pushed back and I’ve seen reports it comes out August 20th too. Either way. Find out when it comes out. Buy your ticket. Sit back, relax, and go insane with joy watching this film!

Piranha 3D – August 27

Yes, I put it. This is going to be hilarious. HOWEVER, I remember reading that due to budget cuts, it could no longer afford to show it in actual 3D. So even though “3D” is in the title – it will only be in 2D? Ouch. Hope it’s not true. At least go rent this movie! (sorry for low-quality trailer)

So there you have it. your guide for the next six months at the movies. To recap, here are the films you must go see this year:

10 – The Expendables

9 – Hot Tub Time Machine

8 – Green Zone

7 – Shutter Island

6 – Robin Hood

5 – Clash of the Titans

4 – Toy Story 3

3 – Kick-Ass

2 – Iron Man 2

1 – Inception

Here are some of the other movies that come out later in the year or don’t have a release date as of yet to be excited about!

Red Dawn (Sept 24), The Social Network (Oct 15), Paranormal Activity 2 (Oct 22 – sigh), Harry Potter (Nov 19), The American (Dec 17), Tron Legacy (Dec 17), Green Hornet (Dec 22), Ender’s Game (TBA), Paul (TBA), The Black Swan (TBA), Arrested Development (TBA), Scott Pilgrim vs the World (TBA).

19 Responses to “A Look Ahead to Movies in 2010”

  1. Geeeenneeeeessiiissss February 20, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Here’s the thing ladies and gentlemen, even IF the last airbender is a great movie and it is very successful, Greg will not admit he’s an idiot. Luckily, I will be here to remind him.

  2. Thatgirl February 20, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Repo men is actually based off the same concept found in Repo! The Genetic Opera. However, R!tGO is rock based musical.

    • Ghudson February 20, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      yeah I read that actually – was this an actual opera or what? Did you see it?

  3. mervdiddy February 20, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    No love for ‘Brooklyn’s Finest?’ WESLEY SNIPES!

    • Ghudson February 22, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      haha sorry. But looks pretty bad. HOWEVER, I will be entering to win free tickets!

  4. chris February 20, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I cant wait for wall street 2

  5. EB February 22, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    The (anticipated) plot summary of Wall Street 2 on Wikipedia sounds awfully cheesy. Gordon Gekko apparently becomes an economic maven from the confines of his prison cell? He plays the role of an antihero rather than a villain, sharing his economic foresight trying to save his Wall Street brethren rather than exploiting them? I’m also disappointed with the casting of Disney star Shia LaBeouf as the young, ambitious Wall Street trader. With that being said, as a fan of the first movie, I’ll probably go see it.

    Hot Tub Time Machine is the other movie on your list that I’m really looking forward to. It’s either going to be awful or awesome. Considering the premise, there is no in between.

    • Ghudson February 22, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      Wow, Wall Street 2 sounds awful. But it will do well opening weekend, then fall off. And 100% agree with Hot Tub Time Machine. There’s no way it can just be “okay” – either amazing or awful.

  6. Ian February 22, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    How do you list “The Blind Side” as one of the great movies of 2009 and not even mention “The Hurt Locker”, one of the best movies of the past several years?

    HERESAY!

    • Ian February 22, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      Yep, it’s there.

      • Ghudson February 22, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

        Well that’s embarrassing for you huh?

  7. Geeeenneeeeessiiissss February 22, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Did that come out yet? I really wanted to see that..

    • Ghudson February 22, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      Yeah that came out last year.

  8. Geeeenneeeeessiiissss February 22, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Also would like to see this movie

  9. Wolfman February 27, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    In werewolf folklore, like vampires, they are known to have an animlistic allure. Perhaps this what attracted her to him once he was bitten.

  10. Joshua Johnson February 28, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Exceptional. May I add your blog to my link exchange directory?

    • Ghudson February 28, 2010 at 10:50 am #

      Yeah def. Glad you liked it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Look Ahead to Movies in 2011 « Kibitzers - April 1, 2011

    […] that time of the year again, after reviewing the best trailers of 2009 and previewing the movies of 2010, let’s now look ahead to the summer of 2011. The summer is when all the movie studios roll […]

Leave a Reply

